Indian Magazine in Melbourne Australian indian magazine in Sydney indian community magazine in melbourne Indian Newspaper Magazine in Melbourne Indian Magazine in Sydney Bollywood News Magazine Australian indian News in melbourne Image Image Image

Made in India Magazine | September 20, 2021

Why Choose Us We Are An Audited Publication. Advertise With Us.

Select a Page
Scroll to top


No Comments

India's Historic Win in Test Series at Gabba

India’s Historic Win in Test Series at Gabba

| On 05, Feb 2021

This momentous day will go down in history for cricket fans and Indians alike as India beats Australia by three wickets on Day 5 of the series – becoming the first team to do so in 33 years. Although the victory itself wasn’t plane sailing, the visitors managed to make a superb comeback resulting in the 2-1 series win in Adelaide. 

The Gabba Fortress

Australia’s fortress has not been breached since 1988, with no team managing to steal a win here in 33 years. Until now. The Asian giants managed the incredible feat of breaching the fortress in grand style. Before India taking to the turf, the chances of a win seemed extremely slim, as the Australians had managed to set a target of 328. When you compare this to the previous record chase at Gabba, which was 236, it highlights just how incredible this comeback has been.

An unlikely comeback

The comeback, led by Rishabh Pant, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Shubman Gill, was indeed a spectacle to watch; with Pant playing one of his best knocks on 85. This was followed by a fantastic 50 from Pujara and young Gill’s 91 who stitched a 114-run stand to take control for the Indians. However, the win on the 5th day of the series seemed impossible after fans were devastated to see the team lose Rohit Sharma early on. 

Sadly, it appeared that their incredible performance wouldn’t be enough as they still needed to put up nearly 200. But, they never gave up hope. Some of the fantastic performances which prove that India never gave up on their dreams to take the comeback are when: 

  • Ajinkya Rahane went on an all-out attack on the wicket and managed a quick 24 for the Indians. 
  • Mohammed Siraj managed to take five wickets – in what was only his 3rd ever test match. 
  • Washington Sundar hit 50 on his debut for the team.

Retaining the Border-Gavaskar trophy

This fantastic win has resulted in India retaining the Border-Gavaskar trophy for the second time on Australian soil. The test series has been played 15 times between Australia and India, resulting in India raising the trophy for the 10th time. 

How the world celebrated

The world took to Twitter to celebrate the historic win with #TeamIndia currently being one of the top trending hashtags on the platform. Many users congratulated the team. One user posted: “What a marvellous victory for our team” while another said: “One of the greatest test series wins ever. Congrats India and well played Australia, what a series.

We not only saw people posting to congratulate the team. As with every historical event; the hilarious memes were out in full force to lighten the mood and keep us chuckling. Here are some of our favourites following the phenomenal win for the Indians: 

You may also like:

India’s Olympic Medal Drought

Our Olympic Heroes

Brisbane confirmed as the host of 2032 Olympics and Paralympic Games

Narendra Modi Stadium: What’s The Big Deal!

India’s Historic Win in Test Series at Gabba
Tim Paine Dickhead
Disgusting Abuse & Racist Comments are NOT part of Sledging. Stump-Mic catches Tim Paine calling Ravi Ashwin a D****Head

Submit a Comment

    Enquire About Advertising With Us

    Read previous post:

    After being closed for 250 days - the longest amount of time since c.1958 when services stopped for the conversation...