Reach Indians and South East Asians living in Australia

Sachin Tendulkar: First and youngest sportsperson to be conferred Bharat Ratna

 Sachin Tendulkar: First and youngest sportsperson to be conferred Bharat Ratna

Two decades back, Late Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi made history by becoming the youngest luminary at the age of 47, to be conferred the Bharat Ratna i.e. Highest Civilian award of India. But this record has been broken now by our very own little master, Sachin Tendulkar who turned 40 this year. Also, Sachin is the first as well as the youngest sportsperson to be conferred the award following his retirement. Adding to that, Sachin Tendulkar will not be joining the elite club of 43 Bharat Ratna awardees with 8 of them from Maharashtra.
Sachin will now be joining these eight namely; Vinoba Bhave, Father of Indian Constitution B R Ambedkar, Pandurang Vaman Kane, Morarji Desai, Lata Mangeshkar, Dhondo Keshav Karve, Bhimsen Joshi and J R D Tata. Out of these, there are very few who are considered as true-blooded Mumbaikars such as Lata Mangeshkar who was conferred with the award in the year, 2001. Before Sachin Tendulkar, Bhimsen Joshi was the last to be awarded the Bharat Ratna in the year, 2008. This Bharat Ratna comes after a period of almost six years during which no one was chosen for the award.
But now, people from Maharashtra are all praises for Sachin Tendulkar and are proud to have two living Bharat Ratna awardees on their soil.
The other Bharat Ratna awardees basically include prime ministers, presidents, scientists, Nobel laureates and eminent artistes. Sachin Tendulkar retired recently after playing his last Test match against West Indies at Wankhede Stadium, Maharashtra.

Priyam Chatterjee

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *