Reach Indians and South East Asians living in Australia



The 187 visa –also known as the RSMS visa – is designed for skilled workers who wish to work in regional Australia. It also grants holders permanent residence.

Under the 187 visa you can work in Australia under one of three streams:

As a 457 visa holder who has worked for 2 out of 3 years before being nominated, you are eligible for the 187 visa, provided you have been in the same occupation with the nominating employer.

NOTE: Following recent policy changes, you may require a higher English test score to be eligible. In case you do NOT accomplish your two years of service on your 457 visas before March 2018, your visa may be revoked.

Applicants who have been nominated by their employer under the Direct Entry stream and whose nomination has been approved qualify for the 187 visa. Those working in Australia for the first time (or who have worked only briefly) and temporary residents who, for some reason, do not qualify for the Temporary Residence Transition stream are also eligible, as are those applying directly from outside Australia.

NOTE: If your occupation is NOT listed on the Medium and Long Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL), you only qualify to lodge a 187 Direct Entry visa before March 2018. Some occupations on the Short Term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL) may be exempted pending further review based on advice from the Department of Employment. 

An employer may use a tailored and negotiated labour agreement to nominate a subclass 457 visa holder, but the applicant must meet the age, skills and English language requirements laid out in the agreement.

Some occupations under the Direct Entry stream require the applicant to undergo a skill assessment; we can assist you with this. Using the checklists of documents required, we review your application and guide you on your paperwork. We also lodge your application and do the necessary follow up with the assessment body.

Another qualification criterion is that you must be sponsored by an employer located in a designated regional area. These areas include:

    • All of South Australia,
    • the Australian Capital Territory,
    • Northern Territory and Tasmania.

Employers in Victoria, Queensland, New South Wales and Western Australia must be located outside the metropolitan areas.

Employers sponsoring applicants via the Temporary Resident Transitions stream are required to prove that they genuinely need a paid employee to take up a skilled position and that the position is available and ongoing for at least two years. The nomination must be approved by the relevant Regional Certifying Body. Should the need arise were available to assist your employer with this and all other steps needed to facilitate the sponsorship.

To be considered eligible, you must meet these requirements: 

    • Age: You should be under 50 years old if you are applying under the Temporary Residence stream, or under 45, if you are applying under the Direct Entry stream.
    • Language proficiency: You must have English language skills for Temporary Residence Transition (TRT) stream and Direct Entry (DE) stream.
    • You must possess skills and qualifications matching the position you have been nominated for, including any mandatory registration and licenses
    • You must fulfil health and character requirements including proof in the form of a police certificate

Himanshu Yadav

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *